I honestly wasn’t quite sure what to write here today. We’ve had very uneventful rides lately and Texas is getting beaten with both heat and humidity, so we’re easing into a little more downtime for the worst of the summer. I’m still planning to continue riding a few times a week, but definitely bringing the intensity down a fair bit.

But as I’ve been working on the mid-year updates for my main blog, I thought about the ideas that I had put in place at the beginning of the year… my tentative goals for all the ponies, I guess. I can honestly say that I haven’t gotten very far with them yet, but we had more random time off weeks than I had originally planned, so alrighty then.

LADY

So far she is still sound and healthy. She tweaked her front leg at the end of last week so I’m taking it a little easier with her for another week to make sure she’s okay. I think it might just be a bruise, but you can’t be too careful! She’s looking really good though, her topline is filling in nicely and now that I’ve been keeping up with her feet, she moves so much better.

I had wanted to start with some endurance rides this spring, but then Covid happened. So that flew out the window. Instead I’m saving my pennies and planning for a little fall season instead. Maybe that’ll work out better, give us more time to be prepared, and then we’ll have a nice introduction to the people and the atmosphere… and next year will be our year! Maybe. Lol.

I put a new bit on her bridle and she’s been quite a bit happier. She even thinks about contact sometimes, although it’s not really something I’ve worked on. I think over the summer while we’re taking it easy, I’m going to really work on getting her hotter off my leg, improve her rhythm, and start asking for a more consistent soft contact. She’s getting stronger with her leg yields too – if I ask correctly for them. We’ve got some small things to work on this summer while we slowly build up our stamina for some rides this fall.

JULIET

To be completely honest, I haven’t done much with either of the other horses this year yet, but since I’m shortening some of the time I spend with Lady for the summer, this is the ideal time to do it, right? My mom has caught her a few times in the pasture, but so far I haven’t done it. And she doesn’t like the treats I buy, so that doesn’t help. Lol!

TEMPEST

The same thing goes for this rotten little pony. What a brat. She escaped last weekend and I had to round her up, which was a fun job since she still hates being touched. Ah well.

Leave a comment