Whelp… by this point I was really hoping to be able to talk about how we hauled out to some trails and did a little off-property stuff. We were actually supposed to already have gone to our first endurance ride. But then COVID-19 struck. I’m incredibly grateful to be in a position where I’ve still been able to see my horse. I have definitely been a bit more careful and have chosen not to get on multiple times because I wasn’t about to take any unnecessary risks that might end up with me needing to go to the ER during this time.

A few weeks ago, I arranged to borrow a trailer. I researched which trails were closest for me to haul out to. Lady got her Coggins/health certificate. We were ready to go! And I probably would have still done that if the state parks hadn’t been shut down since the trails I had planned on using are on state park land. Ah well.

So now we regroup. State parks are opening again in Texas but I won’t be hauling out just yet. Most likely, I’ll plan our first off-property thing for sometime in the first half of May. Most of the spring endurance events have been cancelled, but I’m still holding for one in June that hasn’t given an official announcement yet. If that one cancels, I will most likely continue training, save my money, and plan for an awesome fall season – it’ll be fine! There are at least three rides that I could probably go to in the fall….

I’ve been a little bummed out about everything going on because this was supposed to be my year to finally get out and do some stuff with Lady. I know there’s always next year, but she’s almost 22 at this point and the years are ticking. Right now she’s in great shape and I have no doubt we’ll be back next year to kick some butt, but that little voice is constantly in the back of my head wondering how long we actually have left together. It sucks, and I’m trying to enjoy the here and now but it’s still hard. I’ll keep riding and just plan to haul out to more trails and more little shows/events as we can get to them. It’ll be fun!

Leave a comment